Don't Miss

Thirty-Two premier prep teams from around the nation set to air it out in Hoover

The National Select 7 on 7 Championships will kick off at 9:00 AM Friday morning at Hoover High’s Buccaneer Stadium and The Hoover Met soccer complex.

Brant Berry | PrepsNet

Hoover, AL – Billed as “Americas Premier 7 on 7 Championship Tournament”, this years field will feature top high school football programs from around the nation, including 9 squads from Alabama.

The host Hoover Bucs will be joined by 2014 tournament runner up Spanish Fort, Spain Park, Clay-Chalkville, Florence, Stanhope-Elmore, Carver (Montgomery), McGill-Toolen Catholic and Foley.

Alabama teams will face stiff competition in their quest to keep the title from leaving the states borders on Saturday afternoon.  North Carolina’s Mallard Creek High is ranked 8th nationally in MaxPreps’ Early Contenders Top 25.  Two other out-of-state squads are included in the site’s rankings, Spartanburg (SC) at No. 18 and Oxford (MS) at No. 23.  Metro Birmingham’s Clay-Chalkville Cougars are listed as the No. 21 ranked team nationally.

The 32 team field also features four reigning state champions.  Both teams from Alabama’s highest classifications are represented, Hoover (7A) and Clay-Chalkville (6A).  Also, Georgia Class AAAAA champion Colquitt County, led by former Hoover head coach Rush Propst and North Carolina’s 4-AA champion Mallard Creek Mavericks.

The tournament, which is in it’s fifteenth year, has a history of showcasing future division 1 and NFL talent.  Past tournaments have featured alumni including Julio Jones (Foley HS, Alabama, Atlanta Falcons), Chad Jackson (Hoover HS, Florida, Oakland Raiders), John Parker Wilson (Hoover HS, Alabama, Jacksonville Jaguars), Jaylon Denson (Hoover HS, Auburn) and current SEC standouts Jeremy Johnson (Auburn), Maty Mauk (Missouri) and Robert Nkemdiche (Ole Miss).

Each team is guaranteed nine games, seven in pool play, which will determine their seeding for the double-elimination championship tournament.  Players will be called down using one hand touch rules.  Each game will be played for a total of 21 minutes; during the first 20 minutes the clock will run and only be stopped during the final minute of play.  If the margin between teams is 21 points or more after the first 20 minutes, the clock will not stop during the final minute of play.

The championship game is scheduled for 4:30 p.m., on Saturday at Hoover’s Buccaneer Stadium.  Check out tournament photos and updates on, on Twitter @PrepsNet and watch live on the NFHS Network.






Hoover (AL)
Clay-Chalkville (AL)
Spain Park (AL)
Stanhope-Elmore (AL)
Florence (AL)
McGill-Toolen (AL)
Carver (AL)
Foley (AL)
Centennial (GA)
Fayetteville (AR)
Spanish Fort (AL)
North Gwinnett (GA)
Valdosta (GA)
Hillcrest (SC)
Lassiter (GA)
Hillsboro (TN)
Mallard Creek (NC)
Madison Central (MS)
Colquitt County (GA)
Male (KY)
DeSoto Central (MS)
Grayson (GA)
Oxford (MS)
Grand Street (NY)
Har-Ber (AR)
Naperville Central (IL)
Mandeville (LA)
Wheaton North (IL)
Byrnes (SC)
Glendale (MO)
Bergen Catholic (NJ)
Spartanburg (SC)