Don't Miss

Clarke County hires veteran head football coach

Wade Chapman | PrepsNet

Grove Hill, AL – After resigning from Demopolis (5A) a few weeks ago, Stacy Luker has been hired by Clarke County (3A) pending board approval this week, sources confirm to PrepsNet. The hire was first reported by Ross Wood of the The Clarke County Democrat. Clarke County School Board Superintendent Larry Bagley told that Luker’s official title will be head football coach and Director of Football Operations.

Luker will be replacing interim head coach Chris Young at Clarke County. Young led the Bulldogs to a 4-6 record this past season after the shocking departure of Toby Greene, who left without even to have coached a game, to become an assistant coach at Dothan (6A). Young will remain at Clarke County and be involved in some capacity next year.

Luker got his first head coaching job at Washington County (2A) in 1995. In 1997, Luker then went on to coach at Thomasville (4A) where he led the Tigers 30-23 in 5 seasons making the playoffs three straight years. In 2001, Luker came back to Sweet Water (2A) to become the head coach of his alma mater. Coach Luker led the Bulldogs to success every year he was there going 131-32 in 12 seasons. Overall, Stacy Luker has a 188-73 (.720) throughout his head coaching career in the state.

Luker released a statement to saying, “They’ve always had good athletes there,” he said. “There has been some coaching turnovers since 2010 and, hopefully, this will put a stop to that. In the past, they have cycled up and down as far as wins and losses, but they’ve always been competitive. I believe it is a community and a school that is ready to win and ready for things to chance, and I’m excited to have the opportunity to lead them.”

Coaching Carousel

SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
AlicevilleRico JacksonMelvin Pete
Alma BryantBruce BrelandDoug Hoehn
AshvilleSteve MartinTrey Pike
Autauga AcademyKyle GloverBobby Carr
BerryDanny RainesCaleb Hynds
BeulahJarrod WootenCody Flournoy
Bessemer CityMartez EdwardsQuintin Jackson
Brindlee Mtn.Matt SelfKeith Garner
BoazEric WhaleyJeremy Sullivan
BuckhornJohn HolladayKeith Henderson
CalhounBill LamarErvin Starr
Chilton CountyBrian BradfordTal Morrison
Carver-MontgomeryBilly GreshamWillie Spears
Clarke Co.Junior KelleyStacey Luker
Clay-ChalkvilleJerry HoodDrew Gilmer
Colbert Co.Dale JeffreysBrett Mask
ColumbiaChris HancockMarcus McCall
Coosa Valley AcademySteve McCordDane Reese
DARBobby RhodesJoel Pool
DalevilleJosh ParrishRob Armstrong
Dallas Co.Marty SmithClifford Matthews
DemopolisStacey LukerBrian Seymore
DeshlerMike HandBo Culver
DonohoAndy McWilliamsMark Sanders
DoraMike CainBart Lockhart
DouglasBrad PoundsBryan Jennings
ElkmontSean HoltDuane Wales
Escambia CountyRoyce YoungRico Jackson
FairfieldL.C. ColeKeon Handley
Faith AcademyLance LawleyJeff Estes
FloralaBrad RhodesScott Mason
FruitdaleRyan LittleMike Davis
Gadsden CityMatt ScottBart Sessions
GrissomEddie StewartChip English
Gulf ShoresJamie WilliamsMatt Blake
HaleyvilleBo CulverTodd McNutt
HeadlandScott GlennDanny Raines
Highand HomeGregg BakerPhillip Coggins
HoltvilleHunter AdamsJason Franklin
Holy SpiritJamie GriffinMark Cochran
Hooper AcademyChad MichaelDuane McWhorter
Horseshoe BendJason FranklinJosh Averett
HuntsvilleClint WoodfinMark Fleetwood
Kingwood ChristianSheldon WardTodd Bradford
KinstonJohnny MitchellJon Cooper
LakesidePhil AndersonJimmy King
Lamar Co.James MooreRobbie Bradford
LincolnBrad WallaceMatt Zedaker
LindenAndro WilliamsDemtrice Jackson
Loachapoka Jerome TateAntonio Richards
Marengo AcademyWebb TuttLebo Jones
Mary MontgomeryBrian SeymoreChris Wilson
McGill-ToolenCaleb RossEarnest Hill
MeekLance ArcherDavid Norwood
MinorGeorge BatesCurtis Graves
MurphyRick CauleyMuskingum Barnes
New HopeRandall TaylorKenny Chadwick
NorthsideDarrin HughesChris Hilliker
Northside MethodistDustin HarrisonGeorge Kennedy
NorthviewLaBrian StewartJosh Parrish
OneontaDon JacobsBrandon Herring
OpelikaBrian BlackmonCaleb Ross
Pinson ValleyMatt GloverPatrick Nix
Pleasant HomeChris MasonRichard Mercer
R.A. HubbardNicholas VinsonMac Hampton
Red LevelJames WiseKenny Skipper
ScottsboroPatrick NixDon Jacobs
SectionDrew DavisLuke Powell
SelmaKeon HandleyChristopher Raymond
SparkmanChris CagleLaron White
Stanhope ElmoreMike DeanBrian Bradford
St John Paul IIJohn MunfordDavid Lloyd
StraughnChris WilsonJohn Higgins
St. Clair Co.Lance SmithMatt Glover
Sumiton ChristianBart LockhartMike McCarty
Susan MooreKen AdamsHeath Lauderdale
TalladegaRobert Herring Jr.Ted Darby
TannerLaron WhiteMaurice Belser
ThorsbyBilly JacksonDaryl Davis
Trinity PresbyterianRandy RagsdaleBarry Loyal
Tuscaloosa Co.Bart SessionsJohn Holladay
Victory ChristianMark SandersMark Holliday
VinemontMatt NorrisStephen Robinson
Washington Co.Al EarnestDevin Roberts
WoodlawnCornelius TurnerGeorge Bates
W.S. NealDoug HoehnAndro Williams
Zion ChapelBubba NallRandy Bryant