Don't Miss

Corner Yellow Jackets name new head football coach

Dora, AL – Two weeks after parting ways with former head football coach Zac Willis, the Corner Yellow Jackets have found their next leader on the gridiron.  The Jefferson County School Board officially approved Clay-Chalkville assistant Jon Clements as the next Jackets head coach Thursday morning.  

Willis lead his alma mater for six seasons compiling a 28-35 record including three playoff births.  

The Jackets are coming off a 5-6 2017 campaign and two consecutive trips to the postseason. 

Clements spent last season as an offensive assistant at Clay-Chalkville, helping lead the Cougars to an 11-3 record and a trip to the AHSAA 6A semifinals.  Before joining Drew Gilmer’s staff at Clay, the Jemison native served as offensive coordinator at Pinson Valley. 

Corner joins Gardendale, Minor and Helena as metro area programs who named new head football coaches Thursday. 

2018 Coaching Changes

SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
ArdmoreAndrew SmithP.J. Wright
Benjamin RussellDanny HornOpen
Bessemer CityQuintin JacksonOpen
ChickasawJohn BeverlyJason Rowell
Central-Clay Co.Kris HerronDanny Horn
Cottage Hill ChristianDavid PeoplesOpen
CornerZac WillisJohn Clements
CullmanMark BrittonMatt Plunkett
DanvilleJosh LouAllenShannon McGregory
DothanKevin JacksonOpen
East LawrenceJarrod HelmsMatthew Pettus
ElbaEd RigbyOpen
Ellwood ChristianMike StokesOpen
Elmore Co.Norman DeanJordan Cantrell
EufaulaBryan MooreEd Rigby
Faith AcademyJeff EstesJack French
FlorenceJ.B. WallaceWill Hester
FultondaleRichie BusbyOpen
GardendaleMatt PlunkettChad Eads
GlencoeRusty DavisBrian Alred
HelenaWatt ParkerRichie Busby
Houston AcademyJimmy AddisonJamie Riggs
JasperHeath BrunnerBryan Moore
Lakeside SchoolJimmy KingDan Klages
Mary MontgomeryChris WilsonStan McCain
MinorCurtis GravesAdrian Abrams
New HopeKenny ChadwickBart Stephenson
OneontaBrandon HerringPhil Phillips
OpelikaCaleb RossOpen
Pell CityKeith EtheredgeOpen
PrattvilleChad AndersonCaleb Ross
PricevilleDirk StrunkJason Simmons
RaglandBrian AlredDerrick Sewell
RobertsdaleBrian CampbellOpen
Smiths StationAdam FossettMike Glisson
T.R. MillerAndrew ThomasKeith Etheredge
West LimestoneJordan CantrellOpen
Winston Co.Bart Stephenson Mark Mitchell