Don't Miss

Houston Academy lands Hall of Fame head coach

Dothan, AL – Three months after closing out a 0-10 season the Houston Academy Raiders have landed one of the most successful head coaches in Alabama high school football history.  

Multiple sources have confirmed to PrepsNet that former T.R. Miller coaching legend Jamie Riggs has agreed to be Houston Academy’s next head football coach.  

Riggs will replace Jim Addison who lead the Raiders program to a 60-52 record over 11 seasons.  Addison’s tenure in Dothan included a region championship and eight post season appearances.  

The Hall of Fame head coach will take over a Raiders program who’s last win can on August 19th, 2016.  

Riggs, who has been spotted assisting Leeds Green Wave head coach Lee Gibson’s program since his retirement in 2015, has a career record of 305-81 over 30 years as a head coach.  He is currently third on the list of Alabama high school football’s all-time winningest head coaches and holds the record for the most playoff wins in Alabama high school football history.   His T.R. Miller Tiger squads advanced to the AHSAA state semifinals 14 times, made eight trips to the state title game and came away with four state championships.  

The Brewton native and Troy State graduate served as an assistant at Mobile’s McGill-Toolen Catholic and Winston County High Schools before accepting his first head coaching job at Opp in 1986.  After leading the Bobcats to a 12-19 record over three seasons he accepted the head coaching job at his alma mater, T.R. Miller where he spent the next 27 years of his coaching career.  

2018 Coaching Changes

SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
ArabAdam GilbertOscar Glasscock
ArdmoreAndrew SmithP.J. Wright
AshfordMich SellersOpen
B.C. RainTellis StoneOpen
Benjamin RussellDanny HornKevin Smith
Bessemer CityQuintin JacksonDarone Fagan
B.B. ComerMike BattlesAdam Fossett
B.C. RainTellis StoneOpen
Center PointShawn GregoryGeorge Bates
ChelseaChris ElmoreDustin Goodwin
ChickasawJohn BeverlyJason Rowell
Central-Clay Co.Kris HerronDanny Horn
ClementsCody McCainOpen
Cottage Hill ChristianDavid PeoplesChris Brazell
CornerZac WillisJohn Clements
CullmanMark BrittonMatt Plunkett
Dale Co.Pete HarrisonDon Moore
DanvilleJosh LouAllenShannon McGregory
DothanKevin JacksonWayne White
East LawrenceJarrod HelmsMatthew Pettus
ElbaEd RigbyPete Harrison
Ellwood ChristianMike StokesOpen
Elmore Co.Norman DeanJordan Cantrell
EufaulaBryan MooreEd Rigby
Faith AcademyJeff EstesJack French
FlorenceJ.B. WallaceWill Hester
Fort PaynePaul EllisChris Elmore
FultondaleRichie BusbyDon Dover
GardendaleMatt PlunkettChad Eads
GlencoeRusty DavisBrian Alred
HancevilleCraig FaniganCody McCain
Hazel GreenWill WagnonSmitty Grider
HelenaWatt ParkerRichie Busby
Houston AcademyJimmy AddisonJamie Riggs
JasperHeath BrunnerBryan Moore
Lakeside SchoolJimmy KingDan Klages
Mary MontgomeryChris WilsonStan McCain
MinorCurtis GravesAdrian Abrams
MoodyJay BrownAdam Wallace
New HopeKenny ChadwickBart Stephenson
OneontaBrandon HerringPhil Phillips
OpelikaCaleb RossErik Speakman
Park CrossingSmitty GriderOpen
Pell CityKeith EtheredgeWayne Lee
Phil CampbellRyan SwinneyKevin Barnwell
PisgahAnthony JacksLuke Pruitt
PlainviewDustin GoodwinOpen
PrattvilleChad AndersonCaleb Ross
PricevilleDirk StrunkJason Simmons
RaglandBrian AlredDerrick Sewell
RobertsdaleBrian CampbellChase Smith
RogersRandall MartinOpen
RussellvilleMark HeatonMark Ritter
SatsumaJustin ThomasRay Nelson
Smiths StationAdam FossettMike Glisson
SoutheasternMichael BurkettKevin Byrd
TannerMaurice BelserOpen
T.R. MillerAndrew ThomasKeith Etheredge
West LimestoneJordan CantrellShelby Davis
West MorganJohn RitterMikel Riggs
Winston Co.Bart Stephenson Mark Mitchell
WoodlawnGeorge BatesOpen
VincentWiley McKellarOpen