Don't Miss

Florence Falcons name new head football coach

Florence, AL – The Florence Falcons reached across state lines to bring in their next head football coach.  The Falcons named Williamson County, Tennessee’s Will Hester the Falcon’s next head coach Wednesday afternoon. 

The Brentwood, TN native will be the program’s fifth head coach since Bradshaw and Coffee consolidated to form Florence High in 2004. 

Hester will replace J.B. Wallace who lead the Falcons to a combined 21-24 record including a region championship and trip to the 6A semifinals in his first season.  Wallace’s Falcon squads limped to a 10-21 record over his last three seasons in Florence.  

Hester has spent the majority of his career coaching in the Williamson County Sports Conference in the southern suburbs of Nashville.  He spent three seasons as the head coach at LaVergne High School, leading the Wolverines to a 9-21 record before returning to his alma mater, Brentwood High.  

After a stint as an assistant at with the Brentwood Bruins, Hester accepted his second head coaching position at nearby Ravenwood High.  In three seasons at Ravenwood he lead the Raptors to a runner-up finish in 2014 and a Tennessee 6A state title in 2015.  He left Ravenwood after compiling a 38-4 record to become the first head football coach and athletic director at Nolensville High in 2016.  

After beginning the Nolensville program from scratch he lead the Knights to a 4-8 record, including a trip to the second round of the Tennessee 4A playoffs in 2017.   

Florence will move from 6A to 7A  joining Sparkman, James Clemens Bob Jones, Huntsville, Grissom, Austin and Gadsden City in region 4 in 2018.  

2018 Coaching Carousel 

SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
ArdmoreAndrew SmithP.J. Wright
Benjamin RussellDanny HornOpen
Bessemer CityQuintin JacksonOpen
ChickasawJohn BeverlyJason Rowell
Central-Clay Co.Kris HerronDanny Horn
Cottage Hill ChristianDavid PeoplesOpen
CornerZac WillisJohn Clements
CullmanMark BrittonMatt Plunkett
DanvilleJosh LouAllenShannon McGregory
DothanKevin JacksonOpen
East LawrenceJarrod HelmsMatthew Pettus
ElbaEd RigbyOpen
Ellwood ChristianMike StokesOpen
Elmore Co.Norman DeanJordan Cantrell
EufaulaBryan MooreEd Rigby
Faith AcademyJeff EstesJack French
FlorenceJ.B. WallaceWill Hester
FultondaleRichie BusbyOpen
GardendaleMatt PlunkettChad Eads
GlencoeRusty DavisBrian Alred
HelenaWatt ParkerRichie Busby
Houston AcademyJimmy AddisonJamie Riggs
JasperHeath BrunnerBryan Moore
Lakeside SchoolJimmy KingDan Klages
Mary MontgomeryChris WilsonStan McCain
MinorCurtis GravesAdrian Abrams
New HopeKenny ChadwickBart Stephenson
OneontaBrandon HerringPhil Phillips
OpelikaCaleb RossOpen
Pell CityKeith EtheredgeOpen
PrattvilleChad AndersonCaleb Ross
PricevilleDirk StrunkJason Simmons
RaglandBrian AlredDerrick Sewell
RobertsdaleBrian CampbellOpen
Smiths StationAdam FossettMike Glisson
T.R. MillerAndrew ThomasKeith Etheredge
West LimestoneJordan CantrellOpen
Winston Co.Bart Stephenson Mark Mitchell