Don't Miss

Roster announced for Alabama – Missisippi All-Star Football Classic

Brant Berry | PrepsNet

Montgomery, AL – The Alabama All-Star football team roster for the 34th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic football game has been completed, announced Jamie Lee, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association (AHSADCA).  The game is scheduled to  be played at Montgomery’s Cramton Bowl on Saturday, December 12.

The AHSADCA All-Star Selection Committee selected players from nominations submitted by member school coaches at a meeting Oct. 14.

Steve Mask of Mobile’s St. Paul’s Episcopal School will serve as team Alabama’s head coach, comprised of Class of 2021 seniors. His coaching staff will include: Fairhope’s Tim Carter (offensive coordinator); Oxford’s Keith Etheredge (defensive coordinator), Saint James’ Jimmy Perry (special teams coordinator), Fyffe’s Paul Benefield, Blount’s Lev Holly, Pleasant Grove’s Darrell LeBeaux, Colbert Couty’s Brett Mask, and St. Paul’s assistant Shane Sullivan, who will serve as the scout coach.

“I am very thankful for the committee and all the hard work they put in,” said Lee. “I could tell they were prepared and had done their diligence to pick a quality team under the restrictions that are placed on them, which include making sure each classification and district in the AHSAA are represented.  We also thank our schools for their support of this annual game. We had over 400 seniors nominated to play in this game.  Selecting a team of 40 from this impressive list was a daunting task indeed, but the committee members were diligent and have done a great job.”

The 2020 squad consists of 21 seniors who have already announced commitments to sign with Division I colleges.  Among the Auburn University commitments named to the team are running back Amoni Goodwin of Hewitt-Trussville and Blount defensive lineman Lee Hunter. University of Alabama commitments selected are defensive lineman Anquin Barnes of Lee-Montgomery, defensive lineman Timothy Keenan III of Ramsay, linebacker Deontae Lawson of Mobile Christian, and linebacker Ian Jackson of Prattville.  Other players chosen who have committed to SEC schools include Oxford receiver Roc Taylor (Tennessee), defensive end Dylan Brooks of Handley (Tennessee) and defensive back Edwin White of UMS-Wright (Tennessee), receiver Jackson Meeks of Central-Phenix City (Georgia) and Huffman offensive lineman Jon’Darius Morgan (South Carolina).

Team Alabama quarterbacks will be Will Crowder of Gardendale, who is committed to West Virginia, and Trey Higgins of defending Class 6A state champion Oxford who has committed to play baseball at Mississippi State.

Alabama lost to Mississippi 17-16 in overtime last year in Hattiesburg but still holds a 22-11 edge in the series heading into this year’s contest.

The annual game, which pits the top seniors from Alabama and Mississippi, has been played annually since 1988. Mississippi has won all three games played in Mississippi (2015, 2017 & 2019). Alabama has a 22-8 edge in games played in Alabama.