Don't Miss

Three Alabama high school football programs forfeit region wins

Montgomery, AL –Anniston, St. Luke’s Episcopal and Leroy High School football programs have been fined for violating AHSAA eligibility rules.

Anniston High School allowed a student to participate in two contests in violation of the AHSAA Academic Rule. As a result, Anniston’s football program has forfeited all games won that the ineligible student participated in. The 10th ranked Bulldogs forfeited their Class 4A, Region 4 win over Jacksonville and a non-region win over Ohatchee. As a result, Anniston’s region record is 4-2 in region 4 and 5-4 overall. The final Class 4A, Region 4 standings result in the following four qualifiers: Handley (Q-1); Jacksonville (Q-2); Cherokee County (Q-3); and Anniston (Q-4).  The Bulldogs, who’s regular season came to a close last Friday night, will travel to Montgomery to take on the St. James Trojans in the first round of the AHSAA 4A playoffs next November 5th. 

Click here to check out this week’s Alabama high school football rankings. 

St. Luke’s and Leroy each self-reported violating the AHSAA Bona Fide Move Rule. An ineligible student participated in six varsity football games this season including four games won by the school. As a result, St. Luke’s and Leroy’s football programs have forfeited all games won that the ineligible students participated in.

St. Luke’s forfeits include victories over Class 2A, Region 1 opponents Washington County, J.U. Blacksher and Greene County and non-region opponent Millry. Therefore, St. Luke’s region record is now 0-6 in region play and 1-9 overall.  The Wildcats did not qualify for the AHSAA postseason.  They will travel to Cottage Hill Christian to close out the 2021 season this Friday night. 

Leroy’s forfeits include region victories over Orange Beach, Greene County, J.U. Blacksher and Washington County. Leroy and St. Luke’s each forfeited the contest between each other. Therefore, Leroy’s region record is 0-6 and 2-7 overall. The final Class 2A, Region 1 standings resulted in the following four playoff qualifiers: Clarke County (Q-1); Orange Beach (Q-2); Greene County (Q-3); and J.U. Blacksher (Q-4).  Leroy who did not advance to the playoffs, cap their season Friday night at Citronelle.